great lakes chillin’

by avalureburlesque

I’ve mentioned it in class, but I’ll say it for all of the internet to read: I’m going to be in this  year’s Toronto Burlesque Festival! I had never applied as a solo performer to any burlesque festival before, and am so thrilled that my first attempt was successful! For the last two years, I have been in the Vancouver Burlesque festival as a cast member in a production, and last year was part of Screaming Chicken’s group number at the Burlesque Hall of Fame, but so far, no solo showcase experience for little me. It’s a bit of a process, I had to fill out this multi-page form talking about myself (yay.) and provide a video link to the number I wanted to submit. Once I found out about my acceptance, I had to fill out a couple more forms, and now all I have left to do is book my ticket and pay for my accommodation. I’m really excited to meet people from the Toronto burlesque community, I haven’t met any in person yet, but we have been communicating through a closed Facebook group.

In Canada, Vancouver hosts the biggest burlesque festival even though Toronto is the biggest city and is in closer proximity to other major cities. I am really looking forward to seeing how they do things over there, and looking forward to getting out of town for a short while.

Here is a link to the TBF website: http://www.torontoburlesquefestival.com/

Here is a photo from the number I will be performing in Toronto:

cabaret stylings.

cabaret stylings.